Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Hello, long time EU4 player, new Vic2 player here...

Hello, long time EU4 player, new Vic2 player here...

I just started playing Vic 2 and the tutorial was pretty much useless, so I decided to get my feet wet in a real game and choose China. First game went very smoothly, I took only economic reforms and didn't raise taxes or max out tarrifs, and slowly increased spending on clergy as my economy improved. But westernization took long enough that by the end of the game, I only managed to research about 50% of all techs excluding industry which I actually finished 30/30. I briefly managed to get to #1 though before accidentally conceding in a great war that I didn't want to fight (who knew white peace in that situation wasn't a thing).

So now I decided to try China again, but westernize as quickly as possible by taking 1 or 2 military reforms and conquer stuff. Raised relations with Russia above 100 to stop them from stomping me at game start, raised taxes on the rich and poor, raised spending on clergy to 100%, tarrifs as high as possible so I don't go bankrupt. Except every attempt I've done after the first has had the Western influences event fire that gives +20% research but also increases militancy every month. So my population inevitably increases in militancy and consciousness from constantly firing events after that first event, and eventually, I get to about 3.5 militancy and MILLIONS of reactionaries rise up and overwhelm my substates armies.

So how do I westernize as quickly as possible as China when the western influences event fires?

Arsenal of DemocracyCrusader Kings IIEU3 CompleteDivine WindHeir to the Throne
    Victoria: RevolutionsVictoria 2Victoria II: A House DividedVictoria II: Heart of Darkness500k club
    Europa Universalis IVEUIV: Wealth of NationsEUIV: Conquest of ParadiseEUIV: Res PublicaCrusader Kings II: Legacy of Rome